Question of the week: What did you learn from your parents?

So many things!

My dad taught me how to use both ends of a hammer, for hammering nails and for pulling nails; how to use a saw, sandpaper, and a plane. He taught me how to read blueprints and how to pull electrical wiring. He taught me how to put gas in the car when gas stations started going to self-service.

Mama taught me how to cook and bake and to crochet. The cooking I wished I’d watched closer so I could make the steak and gravy like she used to make. But she did teach me how to cut up a whole chicken for frying.
Baking included cakes, cookies, and biscuits. I remember days when my sister and I would experiment with food coloring and cake icing. We made the prettiest swirls!
Crocheting was put away on my mind’s back burner till I picked it back up almost 10 years ago. Mom also taught me how to iron clothes with my right or my left hand. I’m not sure she meant to teach me that but I ironed whichever way the ironing board was set up. If she had set it up, then I ironed lefthanded because she was lefthanded (except for writing—but that’s another story). I also learned the basics of laundry including separating, washing, drying, and hanging or folding. She taught me how to make a bed properly AND how to fold fitted sheets.

Daddy taught me how to tithe from watching him every Sunday morning while he wrote out checks for each of us to put in the offering at Sunday School.

All those things are everyday things that everyone should know.

Then there are the life lessons that are most important. These everyone should know too. Unfortunately, not everyone had my parents as examples.

I learned that if you work hard, you can get better things. I know the first few years when Daddy was self-employed that things were hard. But eventually we were able to move from a small two-bedroom house into a nice big house with room to grow.

I learned that family is everything and you should keep in contact with them as much as possible. So many visits to see relatives: aunts, uncles, cousins, grandparents, were some of the best times growing up. Time with cousins, first, second or once removed were always fun.

Next were friends. Friends are valuable. I don’t think they ever met a stranger. And if a friend needs something you can give them, then do it. We were always giving rides to kids on our way to church. Friends took care of each other, enjoyed doing things together whenever possible, whether it was ice cream after Sunday night church or a game of Rook, or going camping or an afternoon with a glass of iced tea. Time with the Cook, Robertson, Derouen, or Osborn families was always enjoyable. The attention Daddy gave a certain young man during his growing up years came full circle when it was time for Daddy to be taken care of. The love he showed was reciprocated over and over again.

They taught us that taking time out from the everyday work or play was always a good thing. We took some wonderous vacations to faraway places in other states, and we took some short trips, too. A trip down to the jetties to crab or catch flounder, a weekend camping trip at Dam B, or a touch football game on the empty lot behind the house.

I learned if you get up early enough, you are blessed with watching the sun come up. And travel can always be an adventure.

They taught us about unconditional love by example. The love between my parents was true and good and forever. The first thing my dad would do when he got home from work, whether for lunch or for the day, was give my mom a big kiss. Hugging was a staple in our lives. Thinking of the other person—priority. Thoughtfulness was shown to everyone. If someone was sick in bed, they got magazines, comic books, coloring books, and a visit from us so they wouldn’t feel lonely.

The importance of Bible reading and prayer as part of our daily lives when we’d pile on their bed every night. Seeing Daddy reading his Bible in the mornings.

The love of music. You should’ve seen their record collection. All different genres. It’s no wonder that we were all musicians in our own way.

The love of reading. Another collection worth noting. There were books in every room in the house. If there wasn’t enough space, then another bookshelf would be built. Whether it was the newspaper, the Sunday funnies, or a good mystery or a Little Golden book, we read all the time. Many of our presents were books, or book subscriptions where we’d get a new book every month. My dad served on the library board for several years. Our library cards were always current. And the books they bought from library sales went into their own home library where grandkids or neighborhood kids could borrow them.

They taught us dedication. Their ministries at church included leadership in Sunday School or Training Union, church committees, choir. My mom taught 4th grade for 50+ years. Everything they were interested in they were dedicated to making it better. My dad was a deacon and a leader in the deacons as they would ordain new ones every year or so. He also helped build moveable stage sections for the annual “Living Christmas” production. Mom’s part in that was to help cue the speakers when a line was forgotten.
They were avid fans of Lake Charles High School because we were so involved. They were band boosters while we were there and were always backing us up with fundraisers, working in the concession stand, and letting us have poster parties getting ready for the game on Friday night.

They taught us to stand up for ourselves and what we believe is right, and sometimes those friends we made along the way became influencers who could put in a good word or listen to our suggestions. Always having in mind something for the greater good.

They taught us how to be encouragers. How to lift others up and let them know they were doing a great job. We were all encouraged, of course, to do our best in school. But more than that, we were encouraged to pursue our dreams. And whatever we decided to do, they backed us up.

They taught us the importance of our history, family or otherwise. Many hours were spent on genealogy websites, learning where we came from and the hardships our family members went through to get to where they needed to be and why we are where we are. Also, it’s knowing about our country and those who fought for it in our family tree from the American Revolution on down. My dad would often stop people in uniform or even just wearing a cap with a division on it and thank them for their service.

Love God, love each other, lend a helping hand, make things better than they were, lift others up, and be thankful. I think that about covers it. Oh, and have fun. Laugh a lot. Share a smile.

2 thoughts on “Question of the week: What did you learn from your parents?

Thanks for reading my blog. Let me know your thoughts here.