Fav Foto Friday #5

Well, I almost missed today’s post.

I went to the International Quilt Festival in Houston yesterday. I’ve only been twice before. Need a few days to actually see it all. I know we didn’t see half the quilts that were on display because our time was limited. Today I’ll show you the favorites of the ones I saw. The first one here is Audrey done in pixels. Each square (pixel) was about 1/2″. Amazing work.

Audrey
Audrey in pixels

Up next was a photo of an elderly lady that was printed onto fabric and then “painted” with thread. Thread painting was popular there this year.

thread painting
Thread painting

This next was fascinating. I’m really getting interested in miniature quilts. This one’s blocks are made up of squares that are .2 inches. So each block you see is only about 1″ square. Such patience!

Full size quilt? No miniature.
Full size quilt?

Now to choose between these next two as to which is my favorite. OK, I know this is a fav foto post but when the subject is quilts…

This sampler quilt has 99 traditional 4″ blocks plus the scenic appliqued border. (I’m currently starting a sampler quilt with 6″ blocks.)

Sampler quilt
Sampler quilt

The last one reminds me of a book we loved when we were kids called Imagine. The book had a page that said “Imagine yourself painting a picture of yourself painting a picture of yourself painting a picture of yourself.” The artist captured that in this quilt. There’s the quilt itself. Then the clothesline has another quilt of the quilt with everything included. Lastly, the smaller quilt also has a picture of the larger quilt. Sunbonnet Sue is the star of the show. So many little details that you wouldn’t notice just walking by. The quilting includes cats, birds, squirrels, and a gnome. I know there would be more if I looked harder.

Picture in a picture in a picture
Picture in a picture in a picture

If only I’d brought my camera. These were all taken with my phone.

Next year, I’ll plan on taking a group of ladies and staying at least two days.

Wonder what they’ll come up with by then.

Fav-Foto-Friday

Head on over to Scribbles & Musings for more Fav Foto Friday posts.

4 thoughts on “Fav Foto Friday #5

Thanks for reading my blog. Let me know your thoughts here.

