Fav Foto Friday #4

This past weekend I was able to get away and visit my daughter and son-in-law. I was asked if I would stop by a certain place on my way and I’d never heard of it. That’s because it was on one of the interstates. I don’t do interstate unless I have to. I LOVE the back roads. One of my favorite places to stop is at a rest area that overlooks several miles of rolling hills.

I remember when I first came across it several years back. I was travelling north and saw this wonderful vista off to the right. Just about the time I was wanting to pull off the road to take pictures, the exit to the rest area appeared. Now I make a point to stop there every time I’m going that direction.

butterfly
There were 3 butterflies flitting around these flowers. The trick was to take multiple shots in a row.
sunny hibiscus
Don’t you just love this red hibiscus surrounded by the pink flowers?
the look
Had not taken from this spot before. I’m usually over by the stone fence. This just gives you an idea.

After I leave there, I travel a mile or two up the same highway till I get to a Farm-to-market road. Perfect road made just for me. Tree-lined, shady, curves and hills. The first time I went that way I laughed the whole way. Such a joyous ride. Since there are no shoulders on that road, and a lot of twists and turns, it’s nearly impossible to stop and take a picture. But this time I did.

my road
I made sure that, at the top of the hill, no one was behind me and stopped right in the road.

While visiting with my daughter, we took in the farmers market.

Flowers in a jar
My daughter decided she wanted fresh flowers for the house.
Picking pumpkins
This little girl was precious. Trying to pick just the right pumpkin.

IMG_2333 IMG_2335 IMG_2337 IMG_2338 IMG_2341 IMG_2342 IMG_2344 IMG_2348 fresh produce

There was an art deco-ish building nearby too.

I loved the painted sills.
I loved the painted sills.
I'm a sucker for glass block.
I’m a sucker for glass block.
Old Coca-Cola sign above neon entrance awning. Looks great in b&w.
Old Coca-Cola sign above neon entrance awning. Looks great in b&w.

I also got to see my granddogs.

He has always been camera shy.
 He has always been camera shy.
Isn't this a beautiful dog? They are both shelter dogs.
Isn’t this a beautiful dog? They are both shelter dogs.

Okay. It’s more than just one photo. So maybe the title of the post should be Fav Fotos Friday because these are just my favs from the past weekend.

3 thoughts on “Fav Foto Friday #4

Thanks for reading my blog. Let me know your thoughts here.

