Photo 101: water revisited and orientation

Now that the rain has finally stopped I had to get outside with my new camera. Enjoyed several hours spent at both the Louisiana Tourist Center and the Texas Tourist Information Center just across the river from each other. On the Louisiana side, the pictures are from Lake Bienvenu behind the center. If it weren’t for all the road noise, it would have been more pleasant but who’s complaining? Fact: Bienvenu means Welcome!

Trying to find the right balance with the camera and I definitely lost some shots because of the glare on the water and the fact that I was under a covering and the camera wanted flash. (Don’t ask me. It was a nice sunny day.)

Not a good day for fishing
The cormorants in the water were having much better luck at catching fish.
Looking across the lake
Looking across the lake
Spanish moss is a common thing around here hanging from all kinds of trees. Beyond is Lake Bienvenu.
Spanish moss is a common thing around here hanging from all kinds of trees. Beyond is Lake Bienvenu.

Now for different orientation. (Day 4’s captions have been taken care of in this post too.) I think I like it in portrait mode and close-up.

Almost looks like a face.
Almost looks like a face.
Wonder what kind of bird uses this type of home.
Wonder what kind of bird uses this type of home.

Now for some more lagniappe. Bald cypress trees grow in swampy areas. Their root systems go a long way.

cypress trees and moss
These are mostly young bald cypress trees. There are some others there but I cannot identify them.
cypress knees
These are part of the root system of the bald cypress tree. They are called cypress knees.
Bald cypress trees have a trunk like no other I've seen.
Bald cypress trees have a trunk like no other I’ve seen. This trunk is about 5-7 feet in diameter.
Thanks for reading my blog. Let me know your thoughts here.

